11.08.2012

Play by Post FTDM 14 - Tomb of the Iron Lich, Round 4



As round 4 starts, the Badasses have the lead. Can team Kill Ross! make it up? California Mountain Snake has the first chance at that.

62 comments:

  1. "I should have been Black Mamba!"

    If the Elle could have put any more venom into her words, she would have, but I don't see how.

    ***Tech***
    Minor - Shift to H16 (Fallen Needle)
    Move - L18
    Free - Drop two shrouds on Teurama per Targeted for Death (assuming that they disappeared when he gibbed)
    Standard - Executioner's Noose vs Teurama. +5 Vs Fortitude (invoking 2 shrouds [+2d6 on a hit, +1d6 on a miss], 1d6 + 5 force damage + 4d8 quad damage)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Indeed, the shrouds disappear once the target is dead. The executioner's noose gets thrown (2)+5=7 vs. 12 roll a 2 drink the hooch. The shroud does (5) points of damage, leaving Teurama at 22.

    Euryale, it's your turn. Are you brave enough to draw a card?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Point of order:

    Does my curse expire if my target or I die? Or does it last the game?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Per rules as written, I think it lasts forever.

    Lol, oh my god how are we still winning?!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Almost entirely because of initiative order and manliness.

      Delete
    2. How funny would it be to get the whole Sunday night BDC crew to Movember it up and post pics up here? Karl's already got a head start!

      Delete
  5. Dude, Golem. Why you gots to hate? We just chillin' up in here...

    I'ma move over here and party. Golem is harshin' my buzz. Go home, Golem! You're drunk!

    Tech:
    Draw card for now. Tell me what it is and I'll complete my move.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Appropriately, you got the Medusa. Unfortunately, that means you fail all saving throws from now on.

      Delete
    2. Well, there goes my afternoon looking at imgur memes.

      Delete
  6. Fine. I didn't want a good card, anyway.

    Tech:
    Respawn at 2
    Move to F10
    Minor to curse Cottonmouth
    Standard to Chains of Levistus on Cottonmouth, +6 vs Fort, 2d6 + 5 + 1d6 (curse) damage
    Use Heroic Effort if I have to

    ReplyDelete
  7. Well I'm glad you got what you wanted in the way of cards... Hey now you're a card carrying gorgon (for the love of god brain stop with puns).

    The attack: (11)+6=17 vs. 13 it's a hit. Damage (2)+(5)+5+(2)=14 so Cottonmouth is at 2 hit points, but if she moves before the end of her next turn, she will take another 2d6 points of damage.

    It is Black Mamba's turn, and the crowd chants "Take a card! Take a card!" (If your wondering, the mass of the iron golum is equivalent to that of a crowd, so he counts as the crowd.)

    ReplyDelete
  8. It appears I may have missed something at the end of last round. Black Mamba's Lightning Breath would have done 5 damage to Teurama twice, so she should be bloody @12 hp.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's interesting.

      So, you're saying that the end-of-turn effects that benefit your close friend James' team don't clear on Respawn, but the end-of-turn effects that help the other team, namely the bonus damage on Chains of Levistus, do clear away on Respawn.

      Correct?

      Delete
    2. Explained via emails; complaint withdrawn!

      Delete
  9. [tech]
    Spawn at 1
    Minor: Sustain Lightning Breath's effect.
    Move to F17
    Standard: Ensorcelled Blade on Marduk, +12 vs AC, on hit 1d4+10 damage and if he hits or misses me before the end of my next turn he takes 4 acid damage. Use the extra die from Vorpal if the regular damage doesn't take him down.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Oh, no card :(

    Black Mamba sneaks up behind Marduk and attacks (7)+12=19 vs. 17 hit. Damage (2)+10=12 leaving Marduk dying at -9.

    Cottonmouth take your turn.

    ReplyDelete
  11. "No god will stand in my way!"

    Tech:
    Free action to use up the restorative formula, so that should give 8 THP.
    Minor action to thri-keen claws vs Kotaresh: +8 vs AC, 1d8+6 damage on a hit.
    Standard action to MBA kotaresh: +9 vs AC, 1d8+5 on a hit. Dual attack as a free action: +8 vs C, 1d6+5 on a hit. If I really need too, add power strike as well for another 1d8 from the long sword hit, but I'd rather spend that on Euryale.

    IF I drop kotaresh, move to G11, invoking the wrath of chains of levistus. Odds on my side though!
    Spend AP to MBA vs Euryale, same as above...no dual attack.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You get 9 THP, actually. Your surge is 1 bigger than Elle's. (like 1 HP matters...)

      Delete
    2. Couldn't remember, and on the run today. And with an AC23...every hp matters!

      Delete
  12. O-ren drops the +1 AC for the 9 temp hp.

    First her claws rip at Kotaresh (17)+8=25 vs. 19 hit for (3)+6=9 damage. Kotaresh is at 13 hp. Then the sword (6)+9=15 miss.

    Unless DeuceDM wants to use his AP here, it's Sidewinder's turn.

    I will update the map in a few minutes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Damn your dice Kurt! I'll spend the AP, add in dual attack and power strike if necessary on the hit.

      Delete
    2. FWIW, the Vorpal adds +2 attack and damage on that MBA. Not, I assume, to the dual attack, and it won't make the first attack hit... but just throwing that out there.

      Delete
    3. As soon as the FTDM dice get here, I'll be using cooler dice.

      The action point: (2)+9+2(vorpal)=13 vs. 19 miss again.

      It's now Sidewinder's turn.

      Delete
    4. God damnit! Kurt, I want the names, addresses, and schools where these dice's children attend. Someone needs to pay for this!

      //uncorks the hooch

      Delete
  13. "You folks ever been buried alive? They call this a 'Texas Funeral' - Ah kinda like the name. At least the Thief let me keep mah hat." Spectral shovels dig a pit right beneath Kotaresh as Budd adjusts the rim of his hat.

    The Sidewinder steps out into the open, faces Euryale, and cocks his shotgun in open invitation for attack.

    [Tech]
    Standard: Phantom Chasm on J-15 to L-17
       Attack: +5 vs Kotaresh's Will 12
       Hit: 2d6 + 4d8 +5 psychic damage. Target falls prone and is immobilized until the end of its next turn.
       Miss: half damage (of 2d6+5). Target falls prone.
       Effect: Zone until the end of the encounter - enemies entering the zone fall prone.
    Move: walk to G-13

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. THERE IS NO "WALK" IN FTDM. You RUN, dammit!

      Delete
    2. C'mon Kurt's Low-Rolling Dice, don't fail me now!

      Delete
    3. Does that column at Square G-16 grant Kotaresh some cover?

      Pulling at straws here guys.

      Delete
    4. To be clear, the point of origin for the burst 1 area effect is K-16.

      Do we recognize a retuned Lucky Leprechaun yet?

      Delete
  14. Kevin, are you DWARF enough to take a Card?

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sorry Ross, the origin square of the attack is technically K17 (the old hit someone around the corner w/ a fireball trick).

    Now let's see how bad my dice can screw this up... (14)+5=19 vs. 12, the dice did not fail James on this. Damage (3)+(1)+(2)+(1)+(2)+(5)+5=19 damage leaving Kotaresh at 3 hit points, prone and immobilized (dice, this is Deathmatch, you need to roll good damage).

    Marduk self-gibs. You have lost the lead. Now as Ross said, are you 1/2-orcish enough to draw a card?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Okay, I'm dumb... I forgot the Kotaresh was already hit. He's at -6 hp (not quite dead yet).

      Delete
    2. Did Kotaresh get healed at some point? I thought he had 13 HP.

      Delete
  16. HAHA!! Let's all post at the exact same time!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Marduk boldly draws from the deck of mortals. He then sits down and attempts to figure out from the picture what he got.

    ooc: Marduk can't read

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. hahahahah! (Wayne's World)

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bd0erNx6rWw

      Delete
  18. It looks like a giant blue creature with a long pony tail... but there's something not quite right about it. It's the Avatar. Now you can't attack anyone with the same alignment as you... but I only have alignment for 2 characters, everyone else was lazy in character creation. OKAY EVERYONE YOU NEED TO E-MAIL ME YOUR ALIGNMENT NOW.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Is it not listed on the character sheets?

      Delete
    2. I AM THE ONLY ONE ON MY TEAM TO LIST MY MFing ALIGNMENT!!!

      Delete
    3. No it's not, I only have it for you and Stephen C. I could randomly roll it for everyone else. Or just have it that no alignment selected is an alignment.

      Delete
    4. In the interests of keeping things moving and also not giving any unfair advantages, can Kevin email you his actions and then you can reveal once you know all alignments?

      Delete
    5. Otherwise we could be waiting a long time for everyone to trickle in, you know, once James has optimized goddamn ALIGNMENT CHOICE.

      Don't deny that you're not thinking about it now! lol

      Delete
    6. That sounds good, Kevin e-mail me your action and Anthony, Ian and James need to e-mail me you alignment (Kevin has already done this).

      Delete
    7. I suppose he'd have to know who he's legally allowed to target before making an attack, right? This is a weird one.

      Delete
    8. Point taken, I just need team KILL ROSS' alignments and then we can go.

      Delete
    9. Sorry for the delay (DM takes a gib). Marduk can attack anyone but Sidewinder.

      Delete
  19. Appearing at teleporter 1 Marduk ambush tricks to E17 and unloads upon black mamba.

    Tech

    Move ambush trick to E17
    Standard Melee basic attack with CA +10 vs. AC with furious assault. 2d8+2d6+7

    ReplyDelete
  20. You know, as fun as that move was, it's no that great. Since Kurt has been taking today to relax, I will casually revise my turn!

    Move: up through the teleporter to Destination #1, then down (provoking an OA) to be just below Black Mamba to Square F18. Throw up Second Wind as a free action if the +2 to defenses will stop the OA from hitting.

    Minor: Throw that Oath of Enmity on SIDEWINDER, ready to use it to help Kotaresh.

    Standard: Attack Black Mamba with Bond of Pursuit. In an ideal world she will be unconscious, but I'll take whatever I can get.

    Attack: single attack roll, +7 vs. AC 14
    Hit: 1d12 +7 untyped damage +5 necrotic damage (high crit, brutal 2). If Black Mamba doesn't end her turn adjacent to Teurama, I can shift 3 squares to end closer to her.

    And of course, if she does end her turn adjacent, COLD HANDS.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Yep, yep, having a nice relaxing day teaching my 8-1 class then taking care of my sick cat... Why can't the world be more like deathmatch?

    Anyway Marduk throws his all into Black Mamba. With a quick Ambush Trick he attacks (though it helps if I don't roll at d12...) (7)+10=17 vs. 14 hit for
    (4)+(6)+(6)+(5)+7=28 taking Black Mamba from full to -6 in one hit. But the Lightning Breath does 5 damage to Marduk (leaving him at 23) and pushes him back to D17.

    Well Black Mamba's a little too unconscious to make an OA. Sidewinder now has the Oath on him. The kill shot on Black Mamba: (15)+7=22 vs. 14-5=9 hit for (3)+7+5=15 so Black Mamba's dead at -20, but the Lightning breath doe take Teurama takes 5 damage (dwarf resists the push) leaving her at 7.

    Koraresh bravely draws a card, yes no?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Teurama resists both the push and the damage - resist 5 all due to The Lover.

      Teurama and Marduk are gross Fourthcore lovers.

      Delete
    2. Teurama is really at 12 hp, will get in next map update.

      Delete
  22. No card.

    Spawn: At 2. Shift to F8.
    Move: G12
    Standard: Open the Gates with Flurry and Assault. +6 vs. Ref. 4d10+11.
    Minor: Sustain Weapon. +3 vs Ref. 1d10.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And Teurama gives her divine guidance on Open the Gates of Battle.

      Just ... just everyone think of me making mysterious sound effects at the table. That's my roleplaying.

      Delete
    2. In response, Kotaresh looks to the heavens, winks, and...Opens the Gates...HARDER?!

      Delete
  23. As Teurama chants "Dios Ex Machina" like a monk, Kotaresh Opens the Gates of Battle. The attack (5)or(18)+6=24 vs. 15 HIT. Per e-mail, Budd uses Firedeath on the attack, but per other e-mail Kotaresh uses Furious Assault on the minor attack. So the damage is (1)+(1)+(1)+11=14 so Sidewinder is at 13. The minor attack (11)+3=14 vs. 15 miss.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, and Budd gets 8 temp HP for Primordial Surge.

      Delete
    2. Will get that in next map update (on round 5).

      Delete
  24. The Iron Golem looks angrily at the living. Two are nearest to it, but as it can it moves adjacent to both. The Golem moves to J16/K17.

    New post to be up soon.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Round 5 posted here:

    http://www.fourthcoreteamdeathmatch.com/2012/11/play-by-post-ftdm-14-tomb-of-iron-lich_11.html

    ReplyDelete
  26. Replies
    1. The +11 was +5 normal and +6 flurry of blows.

      Delete